Thriller

Review: Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter

35887251Title: Pieces of Her
Author: Karin Slaughter
Edition: E-book
Pages: 480
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Publication Date: 2018

Goodreads

Andrea knows everything about her mother, who has spent her whole life living in the their small beachside town of Belle Isle.  She would never keep a secret from her only daughter.  Or so she thought.

When violence erupts at the local town mall while Laura and Andrea dine, she learns that there may be a whole other side to her mother she did not know existed.  She soon comes to realize that her mother lived a completely different life in the past and it has been spending the past thirty years hiding from it.

This is the first Karin Slaughter book that I have read, though I have purchased several more because I know how much people love her work.  I had a bit of trouble getting through this one because I felt the story was a bit too drawn out in places and I had a hard time connecting in some places as well.

I did enjoy the dual timeline aspect of the story.  We see Laura’s past through her eyes in 1986 and the present in 2018 through Andrea’s.  I also enjoyed the way in which it explored the relationship between mother and daughter and how Laura and Andrea both look out for each other.

I am looking forward to giving more of Karin Slaughter’s books a try in the future.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Thank you to Harper Collins and Edelweiss for the copy of the book in exchange for and honest review.

3 thoughts on “Review: Pieces of Her by Karin Slaughter”

Leave a comment